Stresa, Italy
September 5-7, 2001

Symposium on Visual/Multimedia Approaches to Programming and Software Engineering

Chair:

Genoveffa Tortora <tortora@unisa.it>
Masahito Hirakawa <hirakawa@huis.hiroshima-u.ac.jp>

Focus of the Symposium:

The Symposium will focus on three major research areas which are strongly related, namely visual programming, multimedia applications and software engineering. Several benefits can derive from the use of visual and multimedia technology for the development and maintenance of software artifacts, and, at the same time, there is an urgent demand for appropriate software engineering methodologies able to support an effective development of visual and multimedia systems.

The symposium is meant to provide an international forum for active researchers and practitioners coming from several research areas, including programming languages, software engineering, multimedia, human-computer interaction, computer-aided design, database systems, geographical information systems. Participants are solicited from both the industrial and the academic worlds.

Various types of contributions are expected, including research papers, lessons learned, status reports, and discussions of practical problems, in all areas related to multimedia and visual approaches to programming and software engineering.

Topics:

Sample topics include (but are not limited to):

Keynote Speeches

  1. e-Business Applications using Web Based Visual Interfaces to Model the Workflow and Component Based Software Architectures
    Prof. Athula Ginige
    Professor of Information Technology
    Director, AeIMS Research Centre
    University of Western Sydney, Australia
  2. Visual Languages for Spatio-temporal Applications
    Prof. Robert Laurini
    Head of the Laboratory for Information System Engineering (LISI)
    National Institute for Applied Sciences (INSA)
    Lyon, France

Program Committee

Yoshihiro Akiyama IBM-Japan, Japan anyfm@jp.ibm.com
Margaret Burnett Oregon State University, USA burnett@cs.orst.edu
S.K. Chang University of Pittsburg, USA chang@cs.pitt.edu
Andrea De Lucia University of Benevento, Italy delucia@unisannio.it
Max Egenhofer University of Maine, USA max@spatial.maine.edu
Gregor Engels University of Paderborn, Germany engels@uni-paderborn.de
Carlo Ghezzi Politecnico of Milan, Italy ghezzi@elet.polimi.it
Angela Guercio University of Salerno, Italy ma@unisa.it
Hans-Juergen Hoffmann Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany hoffmann@pu.informatik.tu-darmstadt.de
David Lowe University of Technology, Sydney david.lowe@uts.edu.au
Max Muehlhaeuser Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany max@informatik.tu-darmstadt.de
Timothy K. Shih Tamkang University, Taiwan tshih@cs.tku.edu.tw
Jeffrey Tsai University of Illinois, USA tsai@eecs.uic.edu
Enrico Vicario University of Florence, Italy vicario@dsi.unifi.it

Background

The symposium is one of the integrated set of HCC'01 symposia focused on the design, formalization, implementation, and evaluation of computing languages and environments that are easier to learn, easier to use, and easier to understand by a broader group of people. Some of these people are end users, some are professional programmers or software engineers, and some are children. HCC'01 replaces thereby the IEEE Visual Language Symposium series and broadens the spectrum of addressed research topics including theoretical, practical, and empirical work concerning language/environmental design aspects, multimedia, virtual reality or web-based technologies as well as any related software modeling or visualization approaches.

Submission

Original research papers should make clear what new contribution the work makes, and how the work differs from related work. In addition to research papers (max. 8 pages), poster papers (2 pages) are solicited. All papers should be in IEEE 2-column conference publication format (for details see the HCC'01 call for papers). Accepted papers will appear in proceedings published by the IEEE Computer Society.

Submissions should be sent until March 31, 2001 via email, in Postscript or PDF format, to

Genoveffa Tortora <tortora@unisa.it>

or by regular mail to

Genny Tortora
Dip. di Matematica e Informatica
Universita' di Salerno
via S. Allende
I-84081 Baronissi (SA)
Italy

Important dates

March 31, 2001 Submission Deadline
June 3, 2001 Notification of Acceptance
June 22, 2001 Camera Ready Version (hard deadline)

Sponsors


Back to HCC '01 Home page

Last update: May 4, 2001